For man holds in his mortal hands the power to abolish all forms of human poverty and all forms of human life.

Greetings to all, welcome back.

If you’ve read my very first entry, I mentioned that I was an aspiring Architect. For as long as I can remember, I decided that I would take the architecture licensure exams as early as I was able to after graduation.  I also mentioned that I would share special occasions or events in my life that I would like to celebrate with you. So here we are. And after a long absence from this blog, I come back to you now an Architect.

Before I really get into things, I just want to take this opportunity to thank all the people who supported me, prayed for me and believed in me throughout this undertaking. My parents, my family and all my friends, thank you all, but I would like to extend my special gratitude to my review-mates. Those three people (I won’t mention your names, you know who you are.) my comrades, my confidants, my teammates. Thank you for accompanying me and giving me strength, faith and love.

So here we go. I am now a newly registered Architect. When I was preparing for this, I kept on promising to myself that I would be the best architect that I can be, but what does that mean? I know that I haven’t achieved my dreams yet, but I’m certain that I put myself in the perfect position to get there. This is my chosen profession, my role in the world.  I believe it means that I should always strive to achieve the highest level of architecture; that I should not only help my family, friends and all the people I’m connected to in facebook but also my country; to make a positive contribution to the world through the architecture that I make. How the hell am I going to do this?

Recent events in our country have been unfortunate. The hostage incident a few days ago was utterly catastrophic and the Philippines was blacklisted in most countries due to this tragedy. This is a nightmare for our foreign relations (given that a lot of tourists died), not to mention the efficiency of our local police and tourism. It makes you wonder how this could have happened. How can we survive this?

A few months ago, we elected new government officials to try and solve our current problems (there are a lot of them) and then this hostage thing comes along. But back then during the elections, when we were making our decisions on who to vote for, I bet a lot of us were asking ‘What can this person do for me and my country?’ And now that I’m thinking about it, I remember the speech given by one of the most important and iconic world leaders of all time, and he said ‘ask not what your country can do for you – ask what you can do for your country’. I understand that it’s important to put people who are capable of doing great positive things in authority, but I think it’s also imperative that we ask ourselves what we can positively contribute to our society. So what can we do for our country as citizens?

To sum this whole entry up, I think the questions that I’ve been asking earlier like ‘How do I make a contribution to the world through my architecture?’ and ‘How can we move on from that hostage situation disaster?’ or ‘What can we do for our country as simple citizen?’ can all be answered plainly by ‘being the best person we can be’. There are literally a thousand ways to do it, but I think we should start with this: starting this very moment, for me and for all those who have read this entry (yes you!), I urge that we all follow the motto they have in Googleplex which simply states: ‘Don’t be evil.’


“With a good conscience our only sure reward, with history the final judge of our deeds, let us go forth to lead the land we love, asking His blessing and His help, but knowing that here on earth God’s work must truly be our own.”

-John F. Kennedy

Inauguration speech

About this entry